SRDF | eng Svet za radiodifuzijo
Stegne 7, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenija | T 041 719 558, uradne ure: pon-čet, 10.00-12.00 (izven uradnih ur kontaktirajte na e-mail SRDF), F 01 511 11 01, E
About the Council

About the Broadcasting Council

The Broadcasting Council is an independent expert body in the broadcasting regulation field.

It consists of seven members, appointed by the National Assembly on the basis of a public invitation. The current composition of the Council with the mandate starting as of 28th April 2017 is:

  • Aleš Lipičnik - President of the Council
  • Gorazd Škrabar - Vice-president
  • Jure Godler - Member
  • mag. Rina Klinar - Member
  • mag. Mitja Kregar - Member
  • Samo Šter - Member
  • Rok Tomažinčič - Member

The president and the vice-president of the Council were appointed by the members from among themselves. The term of office for the president and the other members shall be five years. They may be reappointed after the expiry of the term of office.

According to the Mass Media Act, adopted in 2001, the Broadcasting Council shall conduct the following tasks:

  • it shall provide the Telecommunication, Broadcasting and Post Agency of the Republic of Slovenia with initiatives for the conduct of expert supervision of the implementation of programming requirements and restrictions specified in the present act and shall adopt the annual plan for the conduct of such supervision
  • it shall adopt decisions on the issue, revocation and transfer of licences for performing radio and television activities, and provide the agency with binding proposals and approvals for the issue and revocation of licences for performing radio and television activities
  • it shall adopt decisions on the assignment or revocation of the status of a local, regional or student radio or television station, and propose to the agency the issue of the relevant acts
  • it shall provide the relevant ministry with a preliminary opinion on the assignment or revocation of the status of a non-profit radio or television station
  • it shall adopt decisions for the preliminary opinion of the agency in connection with the restriction of concentration
  • it shall assess the situation in the area of radio and television stations
  • it shall propose to the responsible minister detailed criteria for defining local and regional programming, the procedure and conditions for acquiring the status of special stations, and criteria for in-house production and other programming on radio and television stations specified in the present act
  • it shall give approval to regulations setting out the procedure for issuing, amending, renewing and revoking the licence for performing radio and television activities and the content of the ruling on the issue thereof
  • it shall propose the method and criteria for formulating the list of events of public importance in the Republic of Slovenia and the procedure for compulsory consultations among interested parties, and shall formulate the agency proposal for the content of the list
  • it shall propose to the relevant ministry a development strategy for radio and television stations in the Republic of Slovenia
  • it shall for the National Assembly draw up an annual report or assessment of the situation in the area of broadcasting and proposals for improving the situation
  • it shall perform other tasks in accordance with the present act and the founding act.

Technical, expert, financial and administrative support for the operation of the Broadcasting Council are provided by the Post and Electronic Communications Agency of the Republic of Slovenia. The funds for the work of the Broadcasting Council shall be provided from the national budget, at the proposal of the agency. The funds are managed by the agency as ordered the Broadcasting Council.

The Telecommunications, Broadcasting and Post Agency of the Republic of Slovenia Agency is an independent regulatory authority, whose decisions can only be challenged before courts. It is financed by fees, collected from telecommunication and broadcasting operators. The Agency has powers to manage telecommunication and broadcasting spectrum, regulate the post market, settle disputes among operators on prices, infrastructure etc., set the prices of some services, decide on concentration in certain cases, collect the fees from operators, supervise telecommunication and broadcasting operators and it is also competent for the accreditation of electronic signatures. It is managed by a director and two deputies - one for the telecommunication and one for the broadcasting field - all three appointed by the government. The Agency provides support to two independent councils: one for telecommunications and the other for broadcasting. Both councils have a power to give or refuse their consent to the statutes of the Agency.

     © 2008 SRDF    |   Contacts